The protection of personal data is an important concern for Fraunhofer SIT. Therefore, user data is only stored on this website after you gave your consent and only by using pseudonyms. The data is exclusively used for website-optimization. If you do agree to this, please click on the button "Yes". Our data protection policies
Yes

Identity & Privacy

Data management and protection

Data protection scandals regularly attract massive attention. The harm caused to the image of the companies concerned is often immense. Customer defection, collapsed sales, and lost confidence among business associates are just a few of the potential consequences. If compliance requirements have been violated, there is also a risk of penalties, legal disputes, and claims for compensation by the victims.

Fraunhofer SIT helps businesses and public authorities handle sensitive data in an efficient and legally secure way by testing, customizing, and developing made-to-measure solutions. The proliferation of identities and roles is one of the principal challenges here. At the same time, maximum data quality needs to be reconciled with user self-determination. This is only possible if identity management and data protection are acknowledged as an integral part of the overall system from the outset. For this reason, Fraunhofer SIT focuses on solutions that are secure »by design«.

Fraunhofer SIT supports businesses and public authorities wishing to protect information and identities. In particular, our services include:

  • Analysis and customizing of existing solutions for identity and access management (IAM)
  • Design and implementation of data protection concepts
  • Implementation of internal / external public key infrastructures – either with or without integrated Smart card technology
  • Data protection audits
  • Consulting and development activities linked to electronic patient files
  • Secure integration of Germany's new identity card in online and corporate applications (training, consulting, development)
  • Testing and development of secure ICT applications for motor vehicles
  • Web 2.0 identities

Fraunhofer SIT has been carrying out research into identity management and data protection for many years now. The Competence Center PKI (CC PKI) of the Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft, with more than 18,000 employees, is managed by the Institute. Fraunhofer SIT is also a founding member of the Competence Center for Germany's new identity card.

more Information about CC PKI

Contact

Dipl.-Inform. Michael Herfert

Phone+49 6151 869-329
send email

Job offers

Fraunhofer SIT seeks scientific staff, partly also for management positions

You will be responsible for planning, leading, executing and representing applied R&D projects, jointly with clients and partners from industry, government agencies and academia.

Der Schutz persönlicher Daten ist dem Fraunhofer SIT ein wichtiges Anliegen. Deshalb werden Nutzungsdaten auf dieser Webseite nur nach Ihrer Zustimmung und nur in pseudonymisierter Form gespeichert und ausschließlich zur Optimierung der Webseite genutzt. Wenn Sie damit einverstanden sind, klicken Sie bitte auf den Button „Ja“. Zur Datenschutzerklärung
Ja

Identity & Privacy

Daten managen und schützen

Datenschutzskandale sorgen regelmäßig für großes Aufsehen. Die betroffenen Unternehmen erleiden dann oft einen immensen Imageschaden. Die Folge sind Kundenabwanderungen, Umsatzeinbußen und Vertrauensverlust bei Geschäftspartnern. Wurden Compliance-Anforderungen verletzt, drohen zudem noch Strafen und rechtliche Auseinandersetzungen sowie Schadensersatzforderungen der Betroffenen.

Fraunhofer SIT unterstützt Unternehmen und Behörden beim rechtssicheren und effizienten Umgang mit sensitiven Daten durch Test, Anpassung und Entwicklung passgenauer Lösungen. Eine wesentliche Herausforderung dabei ist die wachsende Zahl der Identitäten und Rollen. Gleichzeitig gilt es, die Qualität der Daten und die Selbstbestimmung der Nutzer zu maximieren. Dies ist nur möglich, wenn Identitätsmanagement und Datenschutz von Anfang an als integraler Teil des Gesamtsystems mit eingeplant werden. Fraunhofer SIT setzt deshalb auf Lösungen, welche diese Qualitäten konzeptionell, »by Design«, beinhalten.

Fraunhofer SIT unterstützt Unternehmen und Behörden beim Schutz von Informationen und Identitäten. Konkret bieten wir

  • Analyse und Anpassung existierender Lösungen zum Identitäts- und Zugangs-Management (IAM)
  • Konzeption und Umsetzung von Datenschutz-Konzepten
  • Realisierung von internen/externen Public-Key-Infrastrukturen – mit oder ohne Smartcard-Einbindung
  • Datenschutzaudits
  • Beratung und Entwicklung zur elektronischen Patientenakte
  • Sichere Einbindung des neuen Personalausweises in Internet- und Unternehmensanwendungen (Schulung, Beratung, Entwicklung)
  • Tests und Entwicklung zum sicheren ITK-Einsatz im Fahrzeug
  • Identität im Web 2.0

Fraunhofer SIT arbeitet seit vielen Jahren im Bereich des Identätsmanagements und des Datenschutzes. Für die mehr als 18 000 Mitarbeiter der Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft betreibt das Institut das Competence Center PKI (CC PKI). Fraunhofer SIT ist Gründungsmitglied des Competence Center für den neuen Personalausweis. 

Ansprechpartner

Dipl.-Inform. Michael Herfert

Telefon+49 6151 869-329
E-Mail senden