The protection of personal data is an important concern for Fraunhofer SIT. Therefore, user data is only stored on this website after you gave your consent and only by using pseudonyms. The data is exclusively used for website-optimization. If you do agree to this, please click on the button "Yes". Our data protection policies
Yes

Media Security

Protecting content and users

Digitization leads to more efficient production and distribution of media. At the same time, it creates a whole series of risks and challenges for producers and distributors. Media that are digitally produced and distributed are more susceptible to unauthorized external access and more easily passed on illegally – and unnoticed – by internal offenders. At the latest when samples or masters are sent to copy laboratories and online shops, the works concerned are accessible to a large number of partners, each of which could potentially make and distribute a copy of their own without anyone being aware. To protect digital media, Fraunhofer SIT marks the originals with digital watermarks. Each medium can be individually marked and traced back to its source.

Protection for content, protection for users

Fraunhofer SIT's digital watermarking technology is already used in numerous archives, online portals, and equipment. It is optimized in an ongoing process. Its solutions boast high performance values with regard to:

  • Protection of digital media without compromising usability
  • Individual marking of audio, video, single images, and PDF documents
  • Highly efficient processes for downloadable solutions
  • Individual alignment to requirement profiles

Protection for online shops

Online shops are characterized by direct contact between the vendor and the customer, and it is this contact that forms the basis for transaction watermarks. Each customer receives an individually marked copy of the purchased media. Fraunhofer SIT solutions have been successfully implemented for many years, and today enjoy a reputation for excellent performance, above-average robustness, and high transparency. Particularly in the audio sector – not only music but also audio books – the Institute has made a name for itself as a reliable solution provider. MP3, AC3, and PCM-WAV are all supported as data formats, and it makes no difference whether or not the material is compressed.

Protection for samples

The damage caused by the illegal distribution of material is enormous. The vulnerability to unauthorized copying is especially great if the media are distributed upfront of their official release on the open market (press samples, advance copies etc.). On the one hand, right holders must be in a position to protect their works while on the other, the addressees must be able to access the media without any problems. Fraunhofer SIT offers integrated solutions based on Rimage systems for this purpose, in which recipient lists are automatically processed, customer watermarks embedded in the data, and the recipient's ID printed on the storage medium – with no possibility of confusion.

Contact

Prof. Dr.-Ing. Martin Steinebach

Phone+49 6151 869-349
send email

Job offers

Fraunhofer SIT seeks scientific staff, partly also for management positions

You will be responsible for planning, leading, executing and representing applied R&D projects, jointly with clients and partners from industry, government agencies and academia.

Der Schutz persönlicher Daten ist dem Fraunhofer SIT ein wichtiges Anliegen. Deshalb werden Nutzungsdaten auf dieser Webseite nur nach Ihrer Zustimmung und nur in pseudonymisierter Form gespeichert und ausschließlich zur Optimierung der Webseite genutzt. Wenn Sie damit einverstanden sind, klicken Sie bitte auf den Button „Ja“. Zur Datenschutzerklärung
Ja

Media Security

Inhalte schützen, Nutzer schonen

Die Digitalisierung ermöglicht mehr Effizienz in Erstellung und Verteilung von Medien. Gleichzeitig ergeben sich für Produzenten und Vertriebsunternehmen auch eine Reihe von Risiken und Herausforderungen. Medien werden verteilt und digital produziert und sind dabei anfällig für unberechtigte Zugriffe von außen oder illegale und unbemerkte Weitergabe durch Innentäter. Spätestens während der Bemusterung und dem Versand von Masterkopien an Kopierwerke und Onlineshops sind die Werke einer großen Anzahl an Partnern verfügbar, von denen jeder einzelne potentiell unbemerkt eine Kopie anfertigen und verteilen kann. Fraunhofer SIT setzt zum Schutz digitaler Medien auf die Markierung der Medien durch digitale Wasserzeichen, mit denen sich Medien individuell markieren und zum Ursprung zurückverfolgen lassen.

Die digitalen Wasserzeichen des Fraunhofer SIT werden bereits in zahlreichen Archiven, Online-Portalen und Geräten genutzt und werden ständig optimiert. Die Lösungen zeichnen sich durch hohe Performance-Werte aus und bieten:

  • Schutz digitaler Medien ohne Usability-Einbußen
  • Individuelles Markieren von Audio, Video, Einzelbild, PDF
  • Hocheffiziente Verfahren für Downloadlösungen
  • Individuellen Zuschnitt auf Anforderungsprofil

Schutz für Online-Shops

Bei Onlineshops besteht ein direkter Kontakt zwischen Anbieter und Kunden, der für Transaktionswasserzeichen genutzt werden kann. Dabei erhält jeder Kunde eine individuell markierte Kopie seiner gekauften Medien. Die Lösungen des Fraunhofer SIT sind hier seit vielen Jahren in der Praxis erprobt und zeichnen sich durch sehr hohe Performanz, große Robustheit und Transparenz aus. Vor allem im Audiobereich, sowohl in der Musik als auch bei Hörbüchern, hat sich Fraunhofer SIT als ein zuverlässiger Anbieter von Lösungen etabliert. Diese verarbeiten mp3, ac3 und PCM-Wav-Daten und eignen sich für komprimiertes und nicht komprimiertes Material.

Schutz bei Bemusterung

Der Schaden durch die unerlaubte Verbreitung von Medien ist enorm. Besonders gefährdet sind Kopien dann, wenn sie verteilt werden, bevor die Medien auf dem freien Markt erhältlich sind (Pressebemusterungen, Vorabkopien, etc.). Der Rechteinhaber muss zum einen seine Werke schützen, zum anderen den Empfängern einen problemlosen Zugriff auf die Medien bieten. Für diesen Bereich bietet Fraunhofer SIT integrierte Lösungen mit Rimage-Systemen, in denen Empfängerlisten automatisiert abgearbeitet werden und Kundenwasserzeichen in den Daten eines Datenträgers eingebettet und Empfängerkennung auf die Datenträger gedruckt werden – Verwechslung ausgeschlossen.

Ansprechpartner

Prof. Dr.-Ing. Martin Steinebach

Telefon+49 6151 869-349
E-Mail senden