Trusted Core Network

Hardware-based Security for Industrial IT Networks

Special requirements apply to IT infrastructures in manufacturing plants and in automatization processes. To prevent production downtime, especially system availability and meeting the real-time requirements of the communication technology is essential for production and control processes. Until recently, industrial environments and their IT networks have been separate from office IT and internet. But now, the industry is connecting more and more heterogeneous IT networks to improve production flow and reduce stock, even to networks outside of the producing company’s control.

Standard IT Security is not sufficient for Industrial IT

Firewalls and Virtual Private Networks (VPN) are considered stateof-the-art for protecting networks. These approaches are well established in the IT world. However, often they do not fulfill the specific requirements industrial environments pose, because they delay process relevant communication in part and may occasionally even cause an increased complexity. Furthermore, the protection of industrial networks’ borders or perimeters has different requirements. For example, remote maintenance of production plants: Here it is often imperative to involve service providers, which leads to a complex threat situation. Besides, conventional IT security architectures do not guarantee the high availability typically required for industrial plants, because office IT security requirements cannot be compared to the requirements demanded in production and automatization: For example, the manipulation of control systems may result in physical damage or even be dangerous for humans or the environment. Issues such as the warranty for leased machines have to be considered as well. This is why Fraunhofer SIT and its partners have developed an innovative solution, in which network nodes are safeguarded as sensitive constituents, thus providing a trusted basis for implementing secure information and communication infrastructures.

Hardware-based Trust Establishment

Fraunhofer SIT’s Trusted Core Network (TCN) is able to review a node’s identity and to guarantee the node’s desired state: For this TCN uses a distributed/redundant node control, checking in a peer-to-peer manner the identity and state of the neighboring nodes. A Trusted Network Discovery protocol facilitates locating all active devices within the direct environment. Using the Trusted Platform Module (TPM) the system identifies the node and compares the current state to the target state. Modifications or manipulations can thus be detected in a fast and distributed manner, alerts will be sent directly to central monitoring and the spreading of attacks and malware can be prevented. Besides the device’s identity, the Trusted Core Network reviews downloaded executable software and configuration data. If changes are found appropriate countermeasures can then be taken, so that essential functions may be maintained (resiliency), even in the case of manipulations or successful attacks on individual components.

Zero-Touch Configuration

Once a new device is integrated into a Trusted Core Network it has to be configured accordingly. To facilitate efficient management Fraunhofer SIT has developed a protocol for Zero Touch Configuration, based on the TPM security functions. Registering the devices only requires a unique device ID, for example an automatically via QR code imported fingerprint of a cryptographic key. During device production, no customer specific information needs to be implemented, so that the extra costs typical for complex security solutions may be avoided, as is the case in public key infrastructures, for example. When the technician hooks up the device, the configuration and the registration among other things are initiated automatically. No USB sticks, laptop or user interface at the device is required for configuration. An intervention would be necessary only if a failure or fault occurs.

Trusted Core Network

Hardwarebasierte Sicherheit für industrielle IT-Netze

Für IT-Infrastrukturen in Produktionsanlagen oder in der Automatisierung gelten besondere Anforderungen. Insbesondere die Verfügbarkeit der Systeme und die Einhaltung von Echtzeitanforderungen an die Kommunikationstechnologie sind für Produktions- und Steuerungsprozesse essenziell, um Produktionsausfälle zu vermeiden. Bislang waren industrielle Umgebungen und ihre IT-Netze von Büro-IT und Internet getrennt. Zur Verbesserung von Produktionsdurchfluss und Reduzierung von Lagerbeständen schafft die Industrie jetzt jedoch mehr und mehr Verbindungen zwischen verschiedenartigen IT-Netzen, darunter auch Netze außerhalb der Kontrolle des produzierenden Unternehmens.

Standardsicherheit reicht für Industrie nicht aus

Standardlösungen zur Netz-Absicherung sind Firewall und Virtuelle Private Netze (VPN). Diese Lösungsansätze stammen aus der IT-Welt. Industrielle Netzwerke haben andere Anforderungen an den Schutz ihrer Grenzen bzw. Perimeter. Durch verschiedene, zwingend notwendige Dienstleister in einem industriellen Netzwerk, beispielsweise für die Fernwartung von Produktionsanlagen, muss mit einem sehr komplexen Modell von potenziellen Angreifern umgegangen werden. Außerdem gewährleisten herkömmliche IT-Sicherheitsarchitekturen nicht die für Industrieanlagen notwendige Hochverfügbarkeit. Auch sind die Sicherheitsanforderungen an Office IT nicht vergleichbar mit den Sicherheitsanforderungen in der Produktion und Automatisierung. Wenn Steuerungssysteme betroffen sind, können Manipulationen physischen Schaden anrichten oder sogar für Mensch und Umwelt gefährlich werden. Deshalb hat Fraunhofer SIT zusammen mit seinen Partnern eine neuartige Lösung entwickelt, welche die Netzknoten als Basiskomponenten sichert und so eine vertrauenswürdige Basis für den Aufbau von sicheren Informations- und Kommunikationsinfrastrukturen ermöglicht.

Hardware-basierte Plattform

Das Trusted Core Network (TCN) des Fraunhofer SIT ist in der Lage, die Identität von Netzknoten zu prüfen und einen gewünschten Zustand der Netzknoten zu gewährleisten: Dazu nutzt das TCN etabliert eine verteilte Kontrolle der Netzknoten, die peer-to-peer die Identität und Zustand der benachbarten Knoten prüfen. Durch ein Trusted Network Discovery Protokoll werden alle aktiven Geräte in der direkten Umgebung gefunden. Unter Verwendung des Trusted Platform Module (TPM) identifiziert das System den Knoten und vergleicht den Ist-Zustand mit dem geforderten Soll-Zustand. So werden Änderungen und Manipulationen schnell erkannt, Warnungen direkt an ein zentrales Monitoring weitergegeben und die Ausbreitung von Angriffen und Malware unterbunden. Neben der Geräte-Identität prüft das Trusted Core Network die installierte und zur Ausführung geladene Software sowie die Konfigurationsdaten. Reaktionen können dann gezielt eingeleitet werden, sodass trotz Manipulation oder erfolgreichen Angriffen auf einzelne Komponenten wichtige Funktionen aufrecht erhalten werden (Resilienz).

Zero-Touch Configuration

Wird ein neues Gerät in ein Trusted Core Network integriert, muss es entsprechend konfiguriert werden. Um ein effizientes Management zu ermöglichen, hat Fraunhofer SIT ein Protokoll zur Zero-Touch Configuration entwickelt, das ebenfalls auf den Sicherheitsfunktionen des TPM basiert. Die Registrierung der Geräte benötigt lediglich eine eindeutige Gerätekennung. In der Produktion des Gerätes muss keinerlei kundenspezifische Information eingebracht werden, sodass die typischen Mehrkosten für komplexe Sicherheitslösungen, wie zum Beispiel für Public Key Infrastrukturen, vermieden werden. Schließt der Techniker das Gerät an, läuft die Konfiguration, Registrierung, usw. vollautomatisch. Eine Interaktion ist nur im Fehlerfall nötig.

Ansprechpartner

Dipl.-Inform. Andreas FuchsStellvertretender Abteilungsleiter Cyber-Physical Systems und Automotive Security

Telefon+49 6151 869-228
E-Mail senden