The protection of personal data is an important concern for Fraunhofer SIT. Therefore, user data is only stored on this website after you gave your consent and only by using pseudonyms. The data is exclusively used for website-optimization. If you do agree to this, please click on the button "Yes". Our data protection policies
Yes

CodeInspect

Analysis Tool for Android Apps

Many mobile applications contain some serious security flaws. Fraunhofer SIT has developed CodeInspect to support analysts, developers and IT consulting companies in making the detailed examination of Android app security features more efficient. CodeInspect is able to detect vulnerabilities and malware quickly in program code. An interactive debugger helps to examine the code of apps quickly and to scour for abnormalities such as security vulnerabilities, defects or a defective behavior. CodeInspect is the only tool that enables live analysis in the bytecode in an efficient and user-friendly manner.

Every day a great number of mobile apps for smartphones and tablet computers are introduced into the market. Antivirus producers and other security analysts need to check several thousand apps per day. While they use tools that are able to test an immense number of apps automatically, security-sensitive apps such as banking apps or suspicious looking code fragments have to be checked manually and quite carefully. Software developers have to examine the libraries of third-party providers just the same, when they are in doubt about the quality and security. Both analysts and app store operators have the problem that the analysis of Android apps is difficult and time-consuming. This is because the apps are often only available as an APK file in binary code, or because the code was obfuscated on purpose. CodeInspect makes such analyses easier.

How does CodeInspect work?

CodeInspect is a framework that first translates any Android app‘s binary code into an intermediate language that is easily understood by human analysts. The heart of CodeInspect is an interactive debugger with built-in single stepping: Using this feature, the analyst can execute the app’s code step by step, while at the same time looking for irregularities during the execution. With the help of CodeInspect, analysts and developers can scrutinize apps more quickly and precisely than with conventional tools. The analyst can not only read the code, but also at the same time see what happens during runtime. CodeInspect’s live analysis not only displays runtime values but also permits the analyst to directly intervene in the program‘s sequence.

Plugin infrastructure

The functionality of CodeInspect can be expanded by plugins and adjusting it to individual requirements. E. g. a plugin for the data-flow analysis enables the analyst to check if and how sensitive user data is sent to a third party.

CodeInspect can be used by

  • creators of antivirus protection software
  • creators of security software
  • IT security departments/IT security professionals
  • software developers
  • software library developers
  • owners of app stores

CodeInspect licences are available on www.codeinspect.de. Fraunhofer SIT offers a time-limited, free of charge test version of CodeInspect.

Contact

Dr.-Ing Siegfried Rasthofer

Phone+49 6151 869-177
send email

Der Schutz persönlicher Daten ist dem Fraunhofer SIT ein wichtiges Anliegen. Deshalb werden Nutzungsdaten auf dieser Webseite nur nach Ihrer Zustimmung und nur in pseudonymisierter Form gespeichert und ausschließlich zur Optimierung der Webseite genutzt. Wenn Sie damit einverstanden sind, klicken Sie bitte auf den Button „Ja“. Zur Datenschutzerklärung
Ja

CodeInspect

Analysewerkzeug für Android-Apps

Viele mobile Anwendungen weisen zum Teil gravierende Sicherheitsmängel auf. Um die detaillierte Prüfung der Sicherheitseigenschaften von Android-Apps für Analysten, Entwickler und IT-Consultingunternehmen effizienter zu gestalten, hat Fraunhofer SIT die Software CodeInspect entwickelt. Mit diesem Werkzeug lassen sich schnell Schwachstellen und Malware im Programmcode aufspüren.

Täglich kommt eine Vielzahl mobiler Apps für Smartphones und Tablets auf den Markt. Antiviren-Hersteller und Sicherheitsana-lysten müssen deshalb täglich Tausende Apps untersuchen. Besonders sensible Apps, etwa für Online-Banking, oder Code-Stücke, die verdächtig aussehen, müssen manuell und besonders sorgfältig überprüft werden. Genauso müssen Softwareentwickler Bibliotheken von Drittanbietern prüfen, wenn sie Zweifel an der Qualität und Sicherheit haben. Analysten und  App-Store-Betreiber stehen dabei vor dem Problem, dass die Analyse von Android-Anwendungen schwierig und zeitaufwendig ist. Denn diese liegen oft nur im Binärcode als APK-Datei vor, oder der Code wurde absichtlich verschleiert und unleserlich gemacht. CodeInspect erleichtert diese Arbeit.

Wie funktioniert CodeInspect?

CodeInspect ist ein Framework, das zunächst den binären Code der App in eine für Menschen lesbare Zwischensprache übersetzt. Herzstück von CodeInspect ist ein interaktiver Debugger mit eingebautem Single-Stepping: Damit geht der Analyst den Code der  App Schritt für Schritt durch, um nach Unregelmäßigkeiten zu suchen. So können Analysten und Entwickler mithilfe von CodeInspect das Verhalten von Apps genauer unter die Lupe nehmen als dies mit herkömmlichen Werkzeugen möglich ist. Damit kann der Analyst den Code nicht nur lesen, sondern gleichzeitig live sehen, was gerade im Bytecode passiert. CodeInspects Live-Analyse zeigt Laufzeitwerte nicht nur an, sondern erlaubt auch direkte Eingriffe des Analysten in den Programmablauf. Sogar das Einbinden von externem Javacode ist möglich.

Plugin-Infrastruktur

Die Funktionalität von CodeInspect lässt sich über Plugins erweitern und individuell anpassen. Mit dem Plugin zur Datenflussanalyse lässt sich etwa überprüfen, ob und auf welchem Weg sensible Daten des Benutzers an Dritte gesendet werden.

CodeInspect eignet sich für

  • Hersteller von Antivirenschutzsoftware
  • Hersteller von Sicherheitssoftware
  • IT-Sicherheitsabteilungen/IT-Sicherheitsverantwortliche
  • SoftwareentwicklerEntwickler von Software-Bibliotheken
  • App-Store-Betreiber

Infos zu Werkzeug und Lizenzierung unter www.codeinspect.de - kostenlose Testphase möglich.