The protection of personal data is an important concern for Fraunhofer SIT. Therefore, user data is only stored on this website after you gave your consent and only by using pseudonyms. The data is exclusively used for website-optimization. If you do agree to this, please click on the button "Yes". Our data protection policies
Yes

OrchSec

Security by SDN - Software-Defined Networking

With Software-Defined Networking, companies are able to organize their networks more efficiently by controlling programmable network components via software. Several enterprises already apply SDN in their networks and data centers to simplify network management, increase flexibility, and hence reduce costs. W ith OrchSec (Orchestrator for Security Applications) Fraunhofer SIT has developed an innovative and multifunctional SDN-based network security solution. Utilizing features and advantages of SDN, OrchSec comes as a customizable security entity providing a higher level of network security compared to what can be achieved in conventional networks.

Especially large enterprises are typically affected by the burden that components such as switches and routers can be configured in classical networks only manually via uncomfortable management interfaces. This complicates the flexible designing of larger networks drastically. Also, centralized network attack recognition is not feasible, and neither is dynamic attack mitigation, for example through the automatic reorganization of particular network segments.

SDN: Flexible centralized network control

Network virtualization allows manufacturers of modern SDN network components to provide their customers with a unified configuration management and an automated centralized control of the overall network. The concept is based on separating the control plane from the data plane: while discrete components such as routers, switches, etc. are required only to forward the data packets, a central SDN controller takes control of all network functions and device configurations.

Effective network security based on SDN

SDN offers a global overview on the network, which enables companies to react to attacks more effectively. The security solution OrchSec developed by Fraunhofer SIT utilizes selective advantages and features of SDN to recognize and successfully avert such attacks at an early stage, even in complex networks. When Orchsec recognizes a network attack, it instantly takes effective countermeasures. In this manner, several typical attacks will be blocked, such as ARP Spoofing, Distributed Denial of Service (DDoS), DNS Amplification and Slow-Read attacks.

Customizable security apps

Fraunhofer SIT offers manufacturers of SDN components the opportunity to integrate a customized OrchSec version into their products. For this OrchSec will be integrated into the controller and monitoring architecture of the respective SDN. The Fraunhofer SIT solution is based on a modular concept that makes customized network security possible: Individual security applications (apps) that are modularly brought alive within the respective network by the use of OrchSec. The apps can be developed, configured, and combined individually according to each customer‘s requirements. In doing so the security functions of the respective network will be customized and kept up-to-date.

Practical testing of OrchSec in daily business has already started.

Contact

Dr. Frank Gerd Weber

Phone+49 6151 869-176
send email

Contact

Dr.-Ing. Kpatcha Mazabalo Bayarou

Phone+49 6151 869-274
send email

OrchSec

Sicherheit durch SDN - Software-Defined Networking

Mit Software-Defined Networking können Unternehmen ihre Netzwerke effizienter gestalten, indem sie programmierbare Netzkomponenten zentral per Software steuern. Einige Unternehmen setzen SDN bereits in ihren Netzen und Datenzentren ein, um das Netzmanagement zu vereinfachen, die Flexibilität zu steigern und somit Kosten zu reduzieren. Das Frauhofer SIT hat mit OrchSec (Orchestrator for Security Applications) eine Lösung entwickelt, die die Vorteile von SDN nutzt und dadurch ein höheres Maß an Netzwerksicherheit bietet, als dies in konventionellen Netzwerken möglich ist.

Gerade große Unternehmen leiden häufig unter dem Problem, dass in klassischen Netzwerken die Netzkomponenten wie Switches oder Router manuell über unkomfortable Management-Schnittstellen konfiguriert werden müssen. Dies macht große Netze oft unflexibel und pflegeaufwendig. Auch eine zentrale Erkennung von Netzwerkangriffen sowie deren dynamische Bekämpfung, z. B. durch automatisierte Reorganisation einzelner Netzsegmente, lassen sich so nicht realisieren.

SDN: Flexible zentrale Netzwerksteuerung

SDN bietet durch die Virtualisierung des Netzwerks ein einheitliches Konfigurationsmanagement sowie eine automatisierte zentrale Steuerung des gesamten Netzes. Das Konzept basiert auf einer Trennung von Kontrollschicht (Control Plane) und Datenschicht (Data Plane): Die einzelnen Geräte wie Router, Switches etc. dienen hier lediglich zum Durchleiten der Datenpakete, während ein SDN-Controller die zentrale Kontrolle über sämtliche Netzfunktionen und Gerätekonfigurationen übernimmt.

Mehr Netzwerksicherheit

Durch den globalen Blick auf das Netzwerk, der mit SDN erreicht wird, ist es möglich, effektiver auf Angriffe zu reagieren. Die von Fraunhofer SIT entwickelte Sicherheitslösung OrchSec setzt diesen Vorteil von SDN gezielt ein, um selbst in komplexen Netzwerken Angriffe frühzeitig zu erkennen und erfolgreich zu bekämpfen. Erkennt OrchSec einen Netzwerkangriff, ergreift es schnell wirksame Gegenmaßnahmen. So lassen sich viele typische Attacken abwehren, wie ARP Spoofing, Distributed Denial of Service (DDoS), DNS Amplification und Slow-Read-Attacken.

Individualisierbare Sicherheits-Apps

Fraunhofer SIT bietet Herstellern von SDN-Komponenten die Möglichkeit, OrchSec individuell angepasst in ihre Produkte zu integrieren. Dafür wird OrchSec in die Controller- und Monitoring-Architektur des jeweiligen SDN integriert. Die Fraunhofer-Lösung basiert auf einem Modul-Konzept, das maßgeschneiderte Netzwerksicherheit ermöglicht: Einzelne Sicherheits-Applikationen (Apps) werden modular in ein Netzwerk eingesetzt. Die Apps lassen sich für jeden Netzwerkbetreiber individuell entwickeln, konfigurieren und miteinander kombinieren. Die Sicherheitsfunktionen des betreffenden Netzes werden auf diese Weise spezifisch angepasst und aktuell gehalten.
Die praktische Erprobung von OrchSec im Unternehmensalltag hat bereits begonnen.

Ansprechpartner

Dr. Frank Gerd Weberstellvertretender Abteilungsleiter

Telefon+49 6151 869-176
E-Mail senden

Ansprechpartner

Dr.-Ing. Kpatcha Mazabalo BayarouAbteilungsleiter Mobile Systems und Mobile Networks

Telefon+49 6151 869-274
E-Mail senden