BizzTrust for Android

Protection of sensitive data and services

In many enterprises smartphones are part of the corporate culture, but often these devices do not fulfill the necessary security requirements. With BizzTrust, Fraunhofer SIT develops a solution that protects sensitive enterprise services and data without restricting the system's functionality or the user access to personal data and applications.

Business users increasingly use employer-issued smartphones for personal as well as business applications (apps). However, in current devices little infrastructure is available to facilitate remote management and enforce enterprise security policy. Moreover, the use of smartphones for personal as well as business purposes increases the exposure to unknown software and unauthorized parties, putting the enterprise’s data and services at risk.

Challenges

In dual-use scenarios, the employer should usually take care of the security and management of the smartphone, but often it is not in the interest of the employee to give the employer full control over partly personal data on the smartphone. Similarly, it is not in the interest of the employer that the IT department is potentially responsible for the private data on the employee’s phone. In addition to this confl ict of interest, usability poses the biggest challenge: The centralized security management of the employee’s smartphone should not restrict functionality to the point where it is easier to use two separate phones.

BizzTrust resolves these problems and creates a framework forfl exible network integration and management of remote devices.Fraunhofer SIT has achieved this by combining innovative containerisolation and modern communication protocols that allow forcentral network integration, remote maintenance and devicemanagement. BizzTrust separates applications and data into securitydomains, executing personal applications in parallel and  independently from business applications. Furthermore, the fl exible remotemaintenance protocols make it possible to analyze thesoftware status of a remote device and to enforce update or remediationprocedures realizing an enterprise’s security policy.With the extended remote management, the business compartmentof the employee’s phone can be integrated into the enterpriseevent management infrastructure.

Features

  • Protection of business data / No restrictions for private use

  • Secure enterprise communication (encryption)

  • Remote management and update

  • Support of bring your own device strategy

  • Automatic policy enforcemente

TeleTrusT Innovation Award 2012

Fraunhofer SIT receives award for the development of the BizzTrust security solution for smart devices – the IT Security Association Germany (TeleTrustT) confers award for a solution that separates business and private data and services on mobile devices.

Development Partnership for smartphone security

Togehther with Sirrix AG Fraunhofer SIT develops security solutions for smartphones. Sirrix AG and Fraunhofer SIT identified the problems of using smartphones in companies as one of the key challenges of IT security. There are solutions required which can be used by end users and organisations equally, which are economically sustainable in the long run and at the same time are sufficiently safe. To develop such solutions and offer them on the market is the common strategy of Sirrix AG and Fraunhofer SIT. One project ist to combine Fraunhofer SIT's BizzTrust solution with the TURAYA MobileDesk for mobile devices solution developed by Sirrix AG.

BizzTrust for Android

Schutz von sensitiven Daten und Diensten

Smartphones gehören in vielen Unternehmen zum Alltag, doch häufig erfüllen die Geräte nicht die notwendigen Sicherheitsanforderungen. Fraunhofer SIT hat mit BizzTrust for Android eine Lösung entwickelt, um die Sicherheit von sensiblen Unternehmensdiensten und -daten zu gewährleisten, ohne Funktionalität und Nutzer einzuschränken.

Unternehmen stellen ihren Mitarbeitern zunehmend Smartphones zur Verfügung, die sowohl für berufliche als auch private Nutzung eingesetzt werden. Derzeitige SmartPhone-Software verfügt jedoch kaum über die notwendigen Sicherheitsmechanismen, um eine verlässliche IT-Integration zu erreichen und die IT-Sicherheitsrichtlinien des Unternehmens umzusetzen. Durch die duale Nutzung für private und berufliche Zwecke entstehen dem Unternehmen so Risiken, denn durch die private Nutzung erhöht sich das Risiko, dass Unberechtigte durch Schadsoftware oder Benutzerfehler unbemerkt Zugriff auf kritische Unternehmens­an­wen­dung­en und -Daten erhalten.

Herausforderungen

Obwohl der Arbeitgeber für die Integration und Absicherung der Gerätes sorgen muss, ist es meist nicht im Interesse des Angestellten, dass der Arbeitgeber die komplette Kontrolle über das teilweise privat genutzte Gerät erhält. Desweiteren ist es auch oft nicht im Interesse des Arbeitgebers, für die auf dem Gerät abgelegten privaten Daten verantwortlich zu sein. Neben diesem Interessenkonflikt bildet die Erhaltung der Benutzerfreundlichkeit die größte Herausforderung: Die zentrale Sicherheits-Administration der Smartphones soll deren Benutzbarkeit nicht einschränken, weil dies den Nutzen für den Angestellten stark verringern würde.

Lösung

BizzTrust löst die genannten Probleme und bildet eine Basis für die verlässliche Netzwerk-Integration und Wartung von Smartphones. Fraunhofer SIT erreicht dies durch die Kombination von innovativer Container-Isolierung-Technologie und modernen Protokollen zur zentralen Netzwerk-Integration, Fernwartung und dem Management von Endgeräten. BizzTrust stellt mehrere getrennte Anwendungsbereiche auf dem Smartphone bereit, die jeweils über ihre eigenen Datensätze und Zugriffsberechtigungen verfügen. Dadurch können private Anwendungen (Apps) ohne Einschränkungen parallel und unabhängig von geschäftlichen Anwendungen ausgeführt werden. Weiterhin erlauben die erweiterten Fernwartungsprotokolle im geschäftlich genutzten Bereich, den Gerätezustand aus der Ferne festzustellen, automatisch Software-Updates einzuspielen und das Gerät vollständig in die zentrale Event-Management-Infrastruktur des Unternehmens zu integrieren.

Features

  • Schutz für Geschäftsdaten / Uneingeschränkte private Nutzung
  • Sichere Kommunikation mit dem Unternehmen (Verschlüsselung)
  • Remote Management und -Update
  • Unterstützt Bring-your-own-Device-Strategie
  • Automatic Policy Enforcement

TeleTrusT Innovation Award 2012

Mit BizzTrust gewinnt das Fraunhofer SIT den „TeleTrusT Innovation Award 2012“. Der Bundesverband für IT-Sicherheit e.V. (TeleTrusT) vergab die Auszeichnung im Rahmen der „Information Security Solutions Europe Conference“ (ISSE).

Entwicklungspartnerschaft für Smartphone-Security

Gemeinsam mit der Sirrix AG entwickelt das Fraunhofer SIT Sicherheitslösungen für Smartphones. Die Sirrix AG und Fraunhofer SIT haben die Problematik der Smartphone-Verwendung in Unternehmen als eine der zentralen Herausforderungen der IT Sicherheit erkannt. Gefragt sind Lösungen, die für Endnutzer und Organisationen gleichermaßen benutzbar, ökonomisch auch langfristig tragbar und zugleich ausreichend sicher sind. Solche Lösungen zu erarbeiten und dem Markt anzubieten, ist die gemeinsame Strategie von Sirrix und Fraunhofer SIT. Ein Projekt ist die Kombination der von Fraunhofer SIT entwickelten BizzTrust-Lösung mit der von der Sirrix AG entwickelten TURAYA MobileDesk -Lösung für mobile Geräte.

Ansprechpartner

M.A. Oliver KüchAbteilungsleiter PR und Marketing | Innovation Manager

Telefon+49 6151 869-213
E-Mail senden

Gefördert durch

Gefördert durch

Investition in Ihre Zukunft

Investitionen für diese Entwicklung wurden von der Europäischen Union aus dem Europäischen Fonds für regionale Entwicklung und vom Land Hessen kofinanziert.